Parting Shots: Around The World With Adam Groffman

8 03 2014

Screen-Shot-2014-02-08-at-3.50.04-PMOur Global Correspondent and true man about world Adam Groffman quit his job as a graphic designer in Boston and went on a life-changing 15+ month trip around the world. Since 2011 Adam has been living in Berlin – Europe’s most hipster city. His blog, Travels of Adam, focuses on finding the coolest cultural things to do around the world. We spoke to him about his passion for travel, and we selected his journeys as this month’s Parting Shots in our magazine. Here’s the expanded story and more of his photos.

Why do you love to travel?

For me, traveling is a great way to learn, see and experience new things. While I might try new things when I’m home, it’s when I’m out exploring a new part of the world that I really begin to embrace change and try new things. I’ve learned so much from traveling — not just typical skills a backpacker or traveler might pick up, but life skills too.

1. How far in advance do you plan your trips?

It varies. I tend to plan at least a month or two beforehand, but I’ve been known to book quite a few last-minute trips. Sometimes if the airfare is right, why not?!

2. Who do you travel with?

I’ve traveled every which way and I can’t honestly tell you how I prefer it. I’ve done group tours, trips with friends or groups of friends, alone and with my boyfriend. I think there’s a time and a place (and a destination!) for every type of travel.

3. What has surprised you about travel?

Traveling has opened my eyes to so many things it’s hard not to come away from a trip surprised about something.

4. What do you know now that you wish you knew before your first trip?

Before I decided to quit my job and travel around the world (which I did for 15 months), I took a single weekend trip to Iceland. That’s where I realized that traveling was easier than I thought. On that trip I met several other travelers who had been traveling, living and working their way around the world. They inspired me to rethink my life and to realize my dream of living abroad.

5. Favorite moment was…?

Besides that trip to Iceland which changed my life? I think it’s all those little moments that add up into an incredible experience.

6. Best time to go…

Over the years I’ve become addicted to travel. I have to find a way to escape home every month or two — even if it’s just a day trip to a nearby town that I haven’t yet explored. So I’ll travel anytime.

7. Gay Factor

While I don’t always travel to stereotypically gay destinations, I don’t necessarily avoid them either. Give me a beach holiday in Tel Aviv or a weekend in San Francisco anytime! But when I’m traveling, I do try to seek out gay bars or gay-owned businesses.

Exclusive photos

Tübingen
Tübingen is a small university town in Baden-Württemberg (southwestern Germany).

4580-tuebingen-germany

London
London’s newest skyscraper, The Shard, dominates the city’s skyline since it opened in February 2013. And yet its light and reflective design by Renzo Piano softens its silhouette.

3517-london-skyline

Antwerp
Each week, a small city square in central Antwerp turns into a public auction space. The seaside Belgian city is famous for its shopping.

2518-antwerp-auction

Cesenatico
0825 A small, seaside town on the Adriatic Coast of Italy (about a half hour north from Rimini), Cesenatico has all the quaint charms of a typical Italian city — plus a maritime history that dates back to Leonardo da Vinci. (He designed the canal system that weaves through the city center into the Adriatic Sea.)

0825-cesenatico-italy

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

